1. Are you a current member with account or password issues? Email us with username, email & what the issue is.

Bullet grain/velocity choices? new 357 owner.

Discussion in 'Handguns' started by chriscoobs, Jun 27, 2008.

chriscoobs Empty Pockets

Hello, i am new to hand guns and looking for some information regarding hand gun ammunition. I recently picked up a Ruger gp100 6". 357 magnum. I wanted a well built revolver for my first gun and i think the Ruger fits the criteria perfectly for me, I have shot it several times at the range and love it so far. I am looking for reccomendations regarding ammunition for this gun. I am somewhat confused by differences in bullet velocities/ grain weight and the relationship between the two, if there is somewhere online somone could point me to for more information i would really appriciate it. I am just looking for more information to help me make the best choice for picking the right ammo. thanks in advance.
    CHRIS.

inthedark Empty Pockets

Generally, the lighter the bullet (lower grain count) the faster the velocity, it's the laws of physics. A heavier bullet will penetrate more, a faster bullet will have less drop (not really noticable at handgun distances)

There's some info here, the numbers aren't always exact due to different barrel lengths, guns, etc.