1. Are you a current member with account or password issues? Email us with username, email & what the issue is.

Carrying a Knife at College

Discussion in 'Knives' started by Nikx, Aug 31, 2008.

Nikx Empty Pockets

There's rarely a day they goes by that I'm not presented with a situation that would be made easier if I had a knife. The thing that pops into my mind first would be opening various packaging, the tool that gets used the most at the moment is my teeth (bad habit, i know).

However I've run into a bit of a speed bump with campus police. I'm a college student at WPI in Mass. After sending an e-mail to the police department without response, I decided to give them a call on their non-emergency line.

At first I was told by the dispatcher they I "probably couldn't" carry a knife, but she would check with an officer. She came back after about a min and told me that knives are considered weapons, and that they aren't allowed. Well I started to try to explain that I'm not talking about a large knife, but a small pocket knife that is legal to carry in both the state of MA and the city of Worcester. She must have given some kind of look to the officer, because he then picked up the phone, and asked me to explain why I wanted to carry a knife, in a tone that said "I already know the only reason you want to carry a knife is to hurt people". :rolleyes:

When I said that I would just be carrying a small knife as a general purpose tool, like to open things and cut up an apple maybe, he told me to call back on X or Y days and speak to the Captain.

So it sounds like to me that they have already made up their minds that a knife of any size is a WEAPON and cannot be carried. I'm trying to decide now if I should even bother calling to talk to the Captain or not. Most likely I'll get more of the same. :shrug:

parnass Loaded Pockets

It may be better to make an appointment with the captain and meet with him in person. Bring a photo of the knife you want to carry.