1. Are you a current member with account or password issues? Email us with username, email & what the issue is.

Celox vs Quikclot

Discussion in 'First Aid Station' started by illusion, Aug 25, 2008.

illusion Loaded Pockets

As the subject says, witch one to get. Is there anyone in here that has any experience with them or have any good info, so speak up. Looking into putting one of them in my bag, just dont know witch one. :help:

Celox

Quikclot

flash_bang Loaded Pockets

I am not a doctor or a medic, I have no experience with either product. However, I think both will work fine, as the quikclot has been improved to not cause an exothermic reaction (which results in severe tissue damage as it is a second degree burn in a wound). Make sure you get the updated granular stuff, or I think any ACS (advanced clotting sponge) you get will not cause an exothermic reaction.

I also think Celox will be fine, too. I don't know if celox has a sponge option, but I would go with that, it would be much easier to apply to a severe wound.

Overall, I personally would go for the sponge version of either if celox has a sponge, and would go with the cheaper granular one, since they both work fine. Again, make sure you get the updated version of the granular quikclot, and do your own research to make sure that the kind you get doesn't cause an exothermic reaction. (Exothermic means that the reaction heats up the surrounding environment, like a hot pack. Endothermic would be cool down environment, which is like an instant cold pack).

Cheers, and I hope this helps somewhat,
    Flash
    • Administrator

scríbhneoir Uber Prepared

In the Tactical Guns & Gear issue of Guns & Ammo that was on display until March 11, 2008 (I could not find a volume/issue number), an article "If It Bleeds" by Patrick Sweeney discusses the different clotting agents, including Celox, TraumaDEX, QuikClot, and HemCon. It addresses the pros and cons of all of them, as well as how each works.