1. Are you a current member with account or password issues? Email us with username, email & what the issue is.

Flying with following items

Discussion in 'Travel' started by goolsbymd, Apr 7, 2013.

goolsbymd Empty Pockets

Long story short I am new to EDC and also carry a get home bag frequently. My blade will be checked in bag. I am going on a long hunting/camping trip in Colorado and was wondering if I'm allowed to fly with the following items in my GHB or if I should empty her into my checked bag.
    Two carabiners
    200 feet paracord
    Fire steel (thinking checked)
    Cotton balls with Vaseline (checked)
    Pill bottle with mixed OTC pills and prescription pain killers (active RX due to recent ACL surgery)
    Klean Kanteen 18oz (thinking checked)
    My FAK will be checked due to all the ointments/shears etc
    Light my fire Ti spork ( checking due to serrated edge)

Think that's all the items in question. Thanks.

lnytunes Loaded Pockets

I flew recently with a couple carbiners hooked onto the outside of my bag, an empty water bottle, a basic first aid kit (Neosporin spray, tube of super glue, advil/tylenol small pill bottle), and some paracord. I also had a mini-bic lighter. TSA didn't even give me a second look. I didn't have the other items on your list, so I couldn't tell you about those. Hope this helps.

Ted Andkilde Loaded Pockets

You're a brave lad going camping on a freshly rebuilt ACL -- if you can, wean yourself off the narcotics within a couple of weeks or so, they made me sick and 'dull'. I may have been lucky but did not experience much pain, stiffness and swelling (Aleve/ice is your friend) aplenty though. When your physio guy tells you it's OK, do tons of stretching. Also, the "oh crap where's the ground, crap, crap, omygod, oh there it is" feeling with every step on uneven ground goes away after a year or so :)

The TSA publishes a list of banned items.

Cheers, Ted

goolsbymd Empty Pockets