1. Are you a current member with account or password issues? Email us with username, email & what the issue is.

Gerber Shard - TSA or non-TSA Compliant?

Discussion in 'Travel' started by CT_Underdog, Oct 1, 2011.

CT_Underdog Empty Pockets

Hi there - newbie here.

I'm ditching my leatherman C33T, SAK, Spyderco Tenacious and everything else even mildly sharp, (even my pocket screwdriver set) out of my maxpedition micro for a plane journey in a week or so.

I dont want to travel entirely tool-less so was thinking of throwing my Gerber Shard on my keychain.

My question is: Will the TSA take it? Anyone had any experience?

(I am travelling out of NYC if that makes any difference)
    • +2 Supporter
    • In Omnia Paratus

IMWILSON Loaded Pockets

Welcome to the forum. I'm not sure about the Shard. I know that most tactial pens and key chain kabatons are not allowed. May depend
    on the airport and TSA agent. Try checking the TSA web site, they have a list of items you can't carry on the plane. If you are checking a
    bag you can have some items in it that are not allowed as carry on.

nbmaine2007 Loaded Pockets

Shard would be fine. I have traveled with Atwoods, no problems. Would take a TSA agent having a really bad day to say something.

Hmmm I think ill chance it. Luckily the shard isn't expensive so worst case scenario I have to buy a new one.

I have bad luck when it comes to TSA agents usually though ;)
    • +1 Supporter

neverused Loaded Pockets

I have flown with a SwissTECH Utili-Key on my keys, I believe your Shard should be safe.

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk

brix Loaded Pockets

Shard should be no problem. At worst they will confiscate it which is highly unlikely.

Success, i swapped out my usual keychain tool: a SAK Midnight Manager for a Gerber Shard and a Fenix LD15. Had no problems at all - went right through.
    Thanks guys.
    • +2 Supporter
    • In Omnia Paratus

IMWILSON Loaded Pockets

Glad to hear it.