1. Are you a current member with account or password issues? Email us with username, email & what the issue is.

Kifaru X-Ray G2 Review

Discussion in 'Gear Reviews' started by WilsonCQB1911, Jan 7, 2012.

WilsonCQB1911 Loaded Pockets

I just recently acquired a black Kifaru X-Ray G2 and have put it through some light use. I use a backpack on a daily basis, so a good quality pack with a good main compartment and the ability to organize smaller items is important to me.

I do not have as much experience as some here with various packs, but I have extensive experience with the TAD Gear EDC, which most will agree is a comparable competitor to the X-Ray in terms of overall claimed capacity, price, and general construction. As such, my review will largely consist of me comparing and contrasting the two packs.

My general impressions of the pack so far are favorable. I think it's an excellent overall size and a great "EDC" pack for someone who needs a bit more than what the smaller day packs offer. I personally think that the TAD EDC is a bit too big and bulky for use as an everyday pack, but do not think so about the X-Ray. I'm not sure why, as they are rated to the same general size, but the X-Ray seems more compact and less bulky. Additionally, it seems to hold more than the EDC, as odd as that sounds. I think it's just a better overall design.