1. Are you a current member with account or password issues? Email us with username, email & what the issue is.

Starting The Keychain Collection…...

Discussion in 'Keychain Tools' started by Motorman, Jan 1, 2014.

Motorman Loaded Pockets

Howdy,

I have read some of the threads on all the tools, etc. that people carry on their keychains and have found it very informative and somewhat overwhelming.
    Wondered if someone could suggest a few tools for keychain EDC carry that you feel is the basic carry items. I am new to this keychain thing, but am willing to add at a later date.
    It would help, but not absolutely necessary that the tools be TSA friendly (just have to remember to remove the "offensive" tools from the chain before I go to the airport.

As always, thanks so much for your comments and suggestions.
    Cobra 6 Actual likes this.

Cobra 6 Actual Loaded Pockets

OK, Motorman, just to get things rolling:

1. A small flashlight (in my case a Streamlight Nano).
    2. A small tool of some kind (I have a TSA-friendly knifeless Victorinox with a 16GB USB, a scissors, mini-pen, bottle opener, tweezers, and Phillips screwdriver ... Think it's called a 'Jetsetter').
    3. A whistle, such as the Fox 40 Micro or, more upscale, an Atwood.
    Xiii and Water-Rat like this.

Water-Rat Loaded Pockets

A flashlight, small tool, and whistle would be a good start for sure. Of those three I only carry a whistle on my keychain, but carry the others in my pockets.

For a small tool, you could get a mini-prybar or one piece multi-tool. I have a County Comm pocket widgy. Some other low cost options are the Leatherman Brewzer and Gerber Shard. There's plenty of other options out there for small prybar, knife, and plier based multi-tools.

A USB drive is a good idea too, doesn't have to be anything fancy, just has to hold up to living on a keychain.

debits Empty Pockets

Before you start, what sort of things do you do on a day-to-day basis? What about weekends?